Brian Shaw Wins 2023 Shaw Traditional, Turns into The Strongest Man on Earth in His Closing Contest

The legendary strongman earned an enormous win earlier than retiring.

The 2023 Shaw Classic, which came about August 19-20 in Loveland, CO, was notable not solely as a result of it’s turn into some of the prestigious contests within the professional strongman circuit, nor as a result of this 12 months was its first time delivering the title of “The Strongest Man on Earth” to the winner. It was extra-special to followers of the game as a result of it marked the ultimate aggressive look of the present’s namesake, organizer, promoter, and eventual winner — Brian Shaw.

In February 2023, Shaw introduced that this 12 months’s Shaw Traditional would mark his retirement from competing in skilled strongman contests. Shaw received the inaugural Shaw Traditional in 2020 and was runner-up to Trey Mitchell within the 2021 and 2022 editions of the competition.

Extra from Breaking Muscle:

The 2023 Shaw Traditional noticed athletes compete in eight occasions over the two-day contest: Log Medley, Max Hummer Tire Deadlift, Wheelbarrow/Arm-Over-Arm Medley, Bag Toss, Automobile Leg Press, Atlas Stones, Standing Bench Press, and Fingal’s Fingers/Energy Stairs Medley.

Shaw claimed victory by successful each the Automobile Leg Press and Standing Bench Press, whereas putting second within the Atlas Stones and Max Hummer Tire Deadlift. The 2023 Shaw Traditional podium was rounded out with runner-up Mitchell Hooper (2023 World’s Strongest Man) and third place contestant Tom Stoltman (2021-2022 World’s Strongest Man).

Extra from Breaking Muscle:

Shaw started as a strongman successful his first newbie contest, the 2005 Denver’s Strongest Man. He would go on to have a legendary skilled profession spanning 16 years, from 2007 to 2023, whereas tallying up a complete of 29 wins and 15 runner-up placings throughout 68 competitions.

Brian Shaw Strongman Profession Highlights

  • World’s Strongest Man — 4-time winner: 2011, 2013, 2015-2016
  • Arnold Professional Strongman World Sequence — 4-time winner: 2015-2018
  • Strongman Tremendous Sequence — 4-time winner: 2009-2010 (two contests per 12 months)
  • Arnold Strongman Traditional — Three-time winner: 2011, 2015, 2017
  • Forca Bruta — Three-time winner: 2013, 2015-2016
  • Shaw Traditional — Two-time winner: 2020, 2023
  • America’s Strongest Man — Two-time winner: 2013, 2016

At 41 years previous, Shaw’s competitors days could also be over, nevertheless it’s clear he’s going to be a mainstay in Strongman. He’s made it clear that he plans to proceed organizing his eponymous contest annually, serving to to develop the power sport by providing a stage for elite athletes. Little question he’ll additionally keep it up for example for strongmen and strongwomen opponents seeking to observe in his huge footprints.

Featured Picture: SHAWSTRENGTH / YouTube

Trending Merchandise

Add to compare
Amazon Basics Flat Weight Workout Exercise Bench, Black

Amazon Basics Flat Weight Workout Exercise Bench, Black


We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Register New Account
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Shopping cart